If the members of the New York Film Critics Circle have any balls at all (which of course they don’t), they’ll follow the lead of the Gotham Awards and give their Best Film of the Year trophy to Joel and Ethan Coen‘s Inside Llewyn Davis, a desaturated, somewhat morose but note-perfect, chiselled-to-perfection masterpiece that people will be savoring 25 or 50 years from now, which is more than you can say for…I don’t want to go there right now.

The NYFCC will convene tomorrow morning at 10 am, and should be finished voting by 1 or 2 pm, I’m guessing.

If the NYFCC doesn’t give their top award to Davis they should at least consider giving it to Spike Jonze‘s Her or Martin Scorsese‘s The Wolf of Wall Street. Then again this is a group that gave their Best Picture award two years ago to that minor curio known as The Artist, and in so doing joined hands with the BFCA, SAG and HFPA. The NYFCC used to be a tough outfit with backbone, but they’ve turned mushy in recent years. How did Crocker Jarmon put it? “Gone soft as an old banana.”

The Gothams’ Best Actor and Best Actress awards went to Dallas Buyers’ Club‘s Matthew McConaughey and Short Term 12‘s Brie Larsen. The Best Documentary award went to The Act of Killing….what? The Breakthrough director award was won by Fruitvale Station‘s Ryan Coogler, and Michael B. Jordan, star of Fruitvale, took the Breakthrough Actor award.