More significant wins have been handed to United 93, The Last King of Scotland‘s Forrest Whitaker, The Queen‘s Helen Mirren, Departed directors Martin Scorsese and Guillermo del Toro, and for Little Miss Sunshine screenwriter Michael Arndt.
The Washington, DC Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) has announced winners of its 2006 awards, and the harrowing Universal-released, Paul Greengrass-directed drama was named Best Film, Whitaker was named Best Actor, Mirren was named Best Actress, Scorsese for Best Director and Arndt for Best Original Screenplay.
Blood Diamond‘s Djimon Hounsou was named Best Supporting Actor and DreamgirlsJennifer Hudson won for Best Supporting Actress. Jason Reitman won the Best Adapted Screenplay award for Thank You For Smoking, Happy Feet won for Best Animated Feature, An Inconvenient Truth won for Best Documentary and Guillermo del Toro‘s Pan’s Labyrinth won for Best Foreign-Language Film — the second win of the day following the Boston Film Critics honoring del Toro’s masterwork a few hours ago.
The Little Miss Sunshine posse won for Best Acting Ensemble, Jennifer Hudson won for Best Breakthrough Performance and Marie-Antoinette won for Best Art Direction.