The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has finally responded to storms of criticism that came down early this year when they declined to nominate Little Miss Sunshine producers Ron Yerxa and Albert Berger as recipients for the Best Picture Oscar because of a dumb-ass rule stating that only three producers can be eligible.

Little Miss Sunshine producers Albert Berger, Ron Yerxa at last January’s Santa Barbara Film Festival

Now the Academy will consider more than three producers if and when the situation involves “a rare and extraordinary circumstance.” The new decision was “adopted by the film academy√ɬ¢√¢‚Äö¬¨√¢‚Äû¬¢s 43-member board of governors on Tuesday night,” according to N.Y. Times reporter Michael Ciepley.