The Florida Film Critics Circle have shown themselves to be just as conformist, regimented and sheep-like as other award-bestowing critics groups, with each of their ’08 winners well within the arena of safety. Best Picture — Slumdog Millionaire. Best Actor — The Wrestler ‘s Mickey Rourke. Best Actress — Frozen River‘s Melissa Leo . Best Supporting Actor — The Dark Knight’s Heath Ledger. Best Foreign Language Film — Let the Right One In. Best Animated Feature — WALL*E. Best Documentary — Man on Wire. Breakout Award — In Bruges director-writer Martin McDonagh.

I don’t mean to single Florida out. I’m just saying they’re like all the other groups, that many film critics are Zelig-minded, that the Zelig impulse is just as prevalent among film critics groups as it is among institutional government types.