HE readers are hereby invited to predict the 2013/2014 Oscar winners in all the categories [nominees listed after the jump]. All submissions must be in by…I don’t know, Saturday, March 1st at midnight? The winner will receive either a cash prize of $100 or $125 or will be treated to a nice dinner or lunch by yours truly if he/she happens to live in Los Angeles. While we’re eating I’ll record our conversation and take pictures and make an article out of our encounter. Spell out predicted winners in BOLD CAPS. No revisions once you’ve sent in a list. The winner chooses the restaurant.

Best Picture: American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Dallas Buyers Club, Gravity, Her, Nebraska, Philomena, 12 Years a Slave, The Wolf of Wall Street.

Best Director: American Hustle, David O. Russell; Gravity, Alfonso Cuaron; Nebraska, Alexander Payne; 12 Years a Slave, Steve McQueen; The Wolf of Wall Street, Martin Scorsese.

Best Actor: Christian Bale, American Hustle; Bruce Dern, Nebraska; Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street; Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave; Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club.

Best Actress: Amy Adams, American Hustle; Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine; Sandra Bullock, Gravity; Judi Dench, Philomena; Meryl Streep, August: Osage County.

Best Supporting Actor: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips; Bradley Cooper, American Hustle; Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave; Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street; Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club.

Best Supporting Actress: Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine; Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle; Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave)
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County; June Squibb, Nebraska.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Before Midnight, Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke; Captain Phillips, Billy Ray; Philomena, Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope; 12 Years a Slave, John Ridley; The Wolf of Wall Street, Terence Winter.

Best Original Screenplay: American Hustle, Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell; Blue Jasmine, Woody Allen; Dallas Buyers Club, Craig Borten, Melisa Wallack; Her, Spike Jonze; Nebraska, Bob Nelson.

Best Animated Feature: The Croods (Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco, Kristine Belson); Despicable Me 2 (Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin, Chris Meledandri); Ernest & Celestine (Benjamin Renner, Didier Brunner); Frozen (Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho); The Wind Rises (Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki).

Best Cinematography: The Grandmaster (Philippe Le Sourd); Gravity (Emmanuel Lubezki); Inside Llewyn Davis (Bruno Delbonnel); Nebraska (Phedon Papamichael); Prisoners (Roger A. Deakins).

Best Costume Design: American Hustle (Michael Wilkinson); The Grandmaster (William Chang Suk Ping); The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin); The Invisible Woman (Michael O’Connor); 12 Years a Slave (Patricia Norris).

Best Documentary Feature: The Act of Killing (Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen); Cutie and the Boxer (Zachary Heinzerling, Lydia Dean Pilcher); Dirty Wars (Richard Rowley, Jeremy Scahill); The Square (Jehane Noujaim, Karim Amer); 20 Feet from Stardom.

Best Documentary Short: CaveDigger (Jeffrey Karoff); Facing Fear (Jason Cohen); Karama Has No Walls (Sara Ishaq); The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life (Malcolm Clarke, Nicholas Reed); Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall (Edgar Barens).

Best Film Editing: American Hustle (Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, Alan Baumgarten); Captain Phillips (Christopher Rouse); Dallas Buyers Club (John Mac McMurphy, Martin Pensa); Gravity (Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger); 12 Years a Slave (Joe Walker)

Best Foreign Language Film: The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium); The Great Beauty (Italy); The Hunt (Denmark); The Missing Picture (Cambodia); Omar (Palestine)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Dallas Buyers Club (Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews); Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa (Stephen Prouty); The Lone Ranger (Joel Harlow, Gloria Pasqua-Casny)

Best Original Score: The Book Thief (John Williams); Gravity (Steven Price); Her (William Butler, Owen Pallett); Philomena (Alexandre Desplat); Saving Mr. Banks (Thomas Newman).

Best Original Song: “Alone Yet Not Alone” (Alone Yet Not Alone); “Happy” (Despicable Me 2); “Let It Go” (Frozen); “The Moon Song” (Her); “Ordinary Love” (Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom).

Best Production Design: American Hustle (Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler); Gravity (Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woollard); The Great Gatsby (Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn); Her (K.K. Barrett, Gene Serdena); 12 Years a Slave (Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker).

Best Animated Short Film: Feral (Daniel Sousa, Dan Golden); Get a Horse! (Lauren MacMullan, Dorothy McKim); Mr. Hublot (Laurent Witz, Alexandre Espigares); Possessions (Shuhei Morita); Room on the Broom (Max Lang, Jan Lachauer).

Best Live Action Short Film: Aquel No Era Yo, (Esteban Crespo); Avant Que De Tout Perdre, (Xavier Legrand, Alexandre Gavras); Helium (Anders Walter, Kim Magnusson); Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa?, (Selma Vilhunen, Kirsikka Saari)
The Voorman Problem (Mark Gill, Baldwin Li).

Best Sound Editing: All Is Lost (Steve Boeddeker, Richard Hymns); Captain Phillips (Oliver Tarney); Gravity (Glenn Freemantle); The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Brent Burge, Chris Ward); Lone Survivor (Wylie Stateman)

Best Sound Mixing: Captain Phillips (Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro); Gravity (Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro); The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, Tony Johnson); Inside Llewyn Davis (Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland); Lone Survivor (Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, David Brownlow)

Best Visual Effects: Gravity (Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould); The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds); Iron Man 3 (Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, Dan Sudick); The Lone Ranger (Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, John Frazier); Star Trek Into Darkness (Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton).