The American Society of Cinematograhers announced today the creation of a special new ASC award category, one that honors the profound influence of Janusz Kaminski‘s hazy, milky-white, alien-floodlight scheme — the “Milky” award. Starting next year the cinematographer whose work has most earnestly reflected or followed Kaminski-style capturings will receive this honor. The recipient will be determined by special committee.

In other news the 2012 ASC Outstanding Achievement nominations were announced today. Kaminski was, of course, nominated for his work on Lincoln. Roger Deakins for Skyfall, Seamus McGarvey for Anna Karenina (my favorite). Danny Cohen for Les Miserables. Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi.

I respectfully disagree with the exclusion of Zero Dark Thirty‘s Greig Fraser.